Fabric posters

It’s that time of year when we have to prepare presentations on our work for scientific conferences. Recently I presented a poster at the General Meeting for the American Society for Microbiology 2014 that was held in Boston a few weeks ago.

This time around I was excited to make a poster after reading a blog post by Jessica Polka about fabric posters. In fact, I was so intrigued that I didn’t even try to get a slot for a talk at ASM and instead I signed up to give a poster presentation. I followed Jessica’s advice and I ordered the performance knit from Spoonflower. One key thing to remember when starting to making your poster is that the standard size with Spoonflower is 36 in x 58 in, so set your poster up with that size at the beginning and use 300 dpi. Also I used the rush service and it was still cheaper than traditional poster printing (but you do need to allow at least four days). I ordered mine on a weekend; it shipped on Tuesday and arrived on Thursday morning. 

In addition to the novelty factor and the brilliant colors, fabric posters have a huge advantage over traditional posters because they fold up small and you can easily fit them in your carry-on. This is how my poster arrived in the mail:Image

You can also wear them to the meeting and whip them out when some kind person expresses interest in your work. Jessica encouraged me to take a picture of me wearing my poster as a scarf and post it on Twitter with #posterscarf And you should too!

Image

The poster hall at ASM was very impressive. I did see one other fabric poster there but I was surprised that there weren’t more. And I felt sorry for all the people schlepping around poster tubes.

Image

When the time came to mount the poster, I found that it was a little hard to smooth out every last wrinkle. We needed a few extra pins and I was glad to have a friend’s help. But all in all the fabric poster was a huge success. I had a great time at the meeting and now I can think about what sewing projects I want to do with it.

Image

 

One response to “Fabric posters

  1. Pingback: Fabric posters | microBEnet: The microbiology of the Built Environment network.

Leave a Reply

